Thursday, June 14, 2007

Safe and Sound...mostly

Keep in mind that I am a little behind on the blogs. We arrived at our rental in Austin on Monday @ noon.
It's now Thursday.

The trip was better than we anticipated. We made excellent time even though we got a late start due to the unfinished packing on Friday night. We left around 11:00 after eating at Ize's Bagley for the last time (on 355 in Rockville....you should try it if you're ever up that way). The server knows us so well that she greets Eric with "Omelet?" before he orders. He's a little more predictable than me. We bought a bagel for the B-dog since we were conveniently out of food for most of the trip and she threw in an extra just to thank us for our service and to wish us well. I love that place! So Bentley lived on bread and water for about 2 days and he didn't seem to mind much but who could complain when you’re eating Papa Johns breadsticks!

Bentley was an excellent traveling companion as always. He eats (or doesn't eat) when we tell him, pees/poops when it’s convenient for us/and never asks "Are we there yet?" What more could you want? Eating along the trip was a bit tricky since we couldn't let Bentley shrivel up like a raisin in the truck while we dined. McDonalds, Dairy Queen, and a lot of gas station snacks (thanks Michelle M.) suppressed our appetites along the way. Speaking of...Michelle and Dave brought us going away travel bags for Eric and I filled with water, Red Bull, Skittles, M&M's etc. What a great gift idea! However, before we got out of Maryland Eric had finished eating his entire bag already while I was still snacking on mine the Tuesday after we arrived. This is the eating disorder that he complains of!

Virginia was the prettiest state that we traveled through. The mountains there are gorgeous. The people were a little scary looking in Western VA, TN, and AK. They all had that incest/boarder-line-retarded look. Eric was really freaked out by it.

We arrived at a hotel (that allowed dogs!) around Nashville, TN. After a bit of room confusion we got settled in to watch Shrek and order Papa Johns before tucking in after about 600 miles of driving (about 10 hours total). The next day we traveled for a good 12 hours before reaching Luke's house in Dallas. Oh my God...his house is absolutely beautiful. Bentley enjoyed playing fetch in his large/fenced backyard to release all of his pent up energy from being stuck in about half of the back of the X-terra for ~1300 miles. We didn't see Luke and Toby until the next morning when he returned from an Alaska trip at about 6 am. He hasn't changed much. How nice of him to allow us to stay at his empty house. It was nice to finally lie on a couch and watch TV...something we hadn't done in nearly 2 weeks! After Luke left for work and Eric and I got showers, we were back on the road for another 4 hours before reaching Austin.

The house is pretty cute, as you can see on Eric's blog, but it’s not even in the same ballpark as Luke's. Its amazing how someone else's "clean" doesn't measure up to my "clean" since I'm the one living in it. I swear that I could have made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich from all of the jelly that I cleaned off of the cabinets. I also found a new favorite cleaning tool---steel wool. It really cleans that tough, stuck-on dirt and grime and when paired up with Kaboom, there's no match! So far the kitchen is 90% clean and moved into, the living room is set up, and the bedroom and master bath are disinfected and moved into. Bentley enjoys his freedom in the backyard and is great with pooping on command. "All's ya gotta do is" say Bent...go poop and it's done. He finally figured out that he can run around the yard like crazy since he found the perfect loop considering the small size of the yard.

Well the "mostly" in the blog title relates to a little incident that happened on our way to Spaghetti Warehouse in Austin. Eric wanted me to drive so I could get used to getting out of the neighborhood onto the major highway. Once we reached the Spaghetti Warehouse, I wanted to pull into the lot beside and pay the $5 but Eric insisted that we aimlessly drive around looking for a free parking spot. Well I gotta little confused thinking that the 2 leftmost (out of four) lanes were turning lanes when only the leftmost lane was a turning lane and sort of hit the car's right front fender with my bumper. He was so nice about it and welcomed us to town and offered to give us directions. You'd never see that in D.C. No cursing, no shouting, no crying. Just a handshake, exchange of insurance info, and a $500 deductible...ouch! This is my first accident with another car involved, besides the cop car that I hit in Columbia, which nothing ever came out of :)

Well I better go and put a dent in the unpacking before boss man comes home.

Love ya guys-
Erica

1 Comments:

Blogger Michelle said...

Oh man, this is comical! Such an Eric & Erica adventure ;-) I'm really liking reading these posts...very entertaining!!

Jun 18, 2007, 11:43:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home